Home » NEWS » Manufacturing » Mississippi Manufacturers Association names officers

Mississippi Manufacturers Association names officers

Michael Thomas, Manager of Land, Government and Public Affairs of The North American Coal Corp. in Ackerman, has been named the 2015-2016 Chairman of the Mississippi Manufacturers Association Board of Directors.

Thomas joined North American Coal in 1998 as Manager of Human Resources, Safety and Training, and in 2002, he became Manager of Land, Government and Public Affairs. Before joining North American Coal, Thomas enjoyed a fulfilling 30-year career as an educator. He has over 45 years of experience in education administration, workforce development, governmental affairs, human resources and management.

Thomas has a Bachelor of Science degree in Industrial Education, an Educational Specialist degree from Mississippi State University, and a Masters degree in Vocational Education/Administration from the University of Arkansas.

He is on the boards of the Mississippi Energy Institute, State Workforce Investment Board, Golden Triangle Regional Solid Waste Management Authority, and Holmes Community College Workforce Development Council. Thomas also served three terms as an aldermen for Ackerman, and was a recipient of the Milken Family Foundation National Educator Award.

Thomas is a French Camp native and lives in Ackerman. He is married to Dot Thomas and they have two children and five grandchildren.

Andrew Mallinson, CEO and Owner of Multicraft International in Pelahatchie, was named Secretary-Treasurer of the MMA Board.

Originally from London, Mallinson was formerly a Consulting Manager with Ernst and Young in Toronto and an Executive at Magna International of Canada. He is a Chartered Accountant in England and Canada and received his degree from Loughborough University in England.

Mallinson has spent 27 years with Multicraft International, a manufacturer of technologically advanced electronic and electromechanical components, complex wire harnesses and metal tube assemblies.

Mallinson has served on the following boards: Society of International Business Fellows, Young Presidents Organization, MMA Workmen’s Compensation, and he served as chair of St. Andrews Episcopal School. He is currently a World Presidents Organization member and Chairman of the Board of The Walker Companies.

Other members of the 2015-2016 MMA Executive Committee are:
» Chairman-Elect, Jim McIngvale, Government & Community Affairs Director, Ingalls Shipbuilding, Pascagoula.
» Vice Chairman, Earl Walker, Senior Director/Site General Manager-Mississippi, Airbus Helicopters, Inc., Columbus.
» Immediate Past Chairman, Trent Mulloy, President, Laurel Machine & Foundry Co., Laurel.
» MMA President & CEO, Jay C. Moon, CEcD, FM, HLM.

The following MMA Board Members have been selected to represent their respective districts:
» District 1 (Coahoma, Desoto, Lafayette, Marshall, Panola, Quitman, Tate & Tunica Counties): Kenneth Cammarato, Roxul USA Inc., Byhalia; Michael Howe, Olin/Winchester, Oxford; and John Stubbs, Nidec Motor Corp., Southaven.
» District 2 (Alcorn, Benton, Itawamba, Lee, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Tippah, Tishomingo & Union Counties): Tommy Kline, Spiral Fab, Inc., Fulton; Cecil Overton, T & L Specialty Co., Inc., Tupelo; Barry Smith, MTD Products, Tupelo; Steve White, RockTenn, Tupelo; and Al Wiygul, American Furniture Manufacturing, Inc., Pontotoc.
» District 3 (Attala, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, Lowndes, Monroe, Noxubee, Oktibbeha & Winston Counties): Dick Dean, Tronox, Hamilton; Lex Lemmers, PACCAR, Inc., Columbus; and Charles Thomas III, Shuqualak Lumber Company, Shuqualak.
» District 4 (Calhoun, Carroll, Grenada, Leflore, Montgomery, Tallahatchie, Webster & Yalobusha Counties): Tony Hardin, Varsity Pro, Inc., Calhoun City; and Ron Ussery, Viking Range Corp., Greenwood.
» District 5 (Bolivar, Holmes, Humphreys, Issaquena, Sharkey, Sunflower, Washington & Yazoo Counties): Ken Lowery, Hunter Engineering Co., Durant.
» District 6 (Claiborne, Copiah, Hinds, Madison, Rankin, Simpson & Warren Counties): Jesse Davenport, Foam Packaging, Inc., Vicksburg; Jim Faries, Tower Automotive, Madison; Bill Hoge, United Plastic Molders, Inc., Jackson; and Reed Morren, Eaton Aerospace, Jackson.
» District 7 (Clarke, Jasper, Kemper, Lauderdale, Leake, Neshoba, Newton, Scott & Smith Counties): Scott Gipson, Gipson Steel, Inc., Meridian; and Don Mather, La-Z-Boy South, Newton.
» District 8 (Covington, Forrest, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Marion, Perry & Wayne Counties): Rand McLaughlin, Thermo-Kool/Mid-South Industries, Laurel; and Jody Norris, C.L. Dews & Sons Foundry, Hattiesburg.
» District 9 (Adams, Amite, Franklin, Jefferson, Lawrence, Lincoln, Pike, Walthall & Wilkinson Counties): Bruce Reynolds, Monticello Tie & Timber, Monticello.
» District 10 (George, Green, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Pearl River & Stone Counties): Cari Field, First Chemical Corp., A DuPont Co., Pascagoula; and Alan Sudduth, Chevron Products Co., Pascagoula.
» At-Large Members: Ray Ables, Tyson Foods, Forest; Nathaniel Beach, GE Aviation, Ellisville; Rusty Berryhill, Kevin Charles Fine Upholstery, New Albany; Stephen Coleman, Raytheon Co., Space & Airborne Systems, Forest; Robbin Jeter, Entergy Mississippi, Jackson; Kevin Logan, Unipres Southeast USA, Inc., Forest; Glenn Lott, Hood Industries, Waynesboro; John Malone, Tennessee Valley Authority, Belden; Jason Rice, Nissan North America, Inc., Canton; Mark Smith, The Chemours Co., TT, Pass Christian; Billy Thornton, Mississippi Power Co., Gulfport; Trenton Tippey, Caterpillar, Inc., Corinth; Fred Volf, Toyota Motor Manufacturing, Mississippi, Inc., Blue Springs; and Stan Webb, Weyerhaeuser Co., Philadelphia.


… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About MBJ Staff