Home » NEWS » Govt/Politics » Hudson wins seat to succeed Coleman in Mississippi House

Hudson wins seat to succeed Coleman in Mississippi House

Abe Marshall Hudson Jr. of Shelby has won a seat in the Mississippi House of Representatives.

Unofficial results show Hudson received 1,250 votes and Earl S. Lucas of Mound Bayou received 739 votes in a special election runoff Tuesday. They ran in District 29 in Bolivar and Sunflower counties.

Hudson will fill the final 3 ½ years of a term started by former Rep. Linda Coleman, a Democrat who had served since 1992. She left the House in March after being sworn in as a circuit judge, a nonpartisan post to which she was appointed by Gov. Phil Bryant.

Candidates in special legislative elections run without a party label but usually tell voters their party preference. Hudson is a Democrat.


… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About Associated Press

One comment


Leave a Reply