Home » NEWS » Health » Forrest General announces annual award winners

Forrest General announces annual award winners

Forrest General Hospital in Hattiesburg recently presented awards to its top employee, leadership and physician.

Employees recognized during the event included Forrest General’s We C.A.R.E. Award recipients, honored for upholding the hospital’s We C.A.R.E. philosophy; Service Award recipients, who were recognized for years of service to the organization; and the 2018 employee of the year, Chuck Pierce.

Also honored were the four winners of the 13th Annual Philip Rogers Quality Award. The award is named for Dr. Philip Rogers, a nephrologist with Hattiesburg Clinic, who dedicated 32 years of his life to serving the people of South Mississippi as a physician, mentor and humanitarian. Rogers, Forrest General’s first nephrologist, was known as a kind-hearted, brilliant physician and great medical staff leader, and was greatly admired and respected for his commitment to his patients and the medical field. Four recipients, each influential and important members of Hattiesburg’s medical community, were announced during the presentation and honored for their roles as a humanitarian, innovator, leader or mentor.

Honorees are:
Employee of the Year: Chuck Pierce, Emergency Department
We C.A.R.E. Awards: Lance Bailey, LSW, Emergency Department Social Work; Alex Hali Beasley, RN, 8T; Wai Chan, Environmental Services; Amanda Mozingo, Epic
We C.A.R.E. Physician Award: Steven Stogner, MD, ICU
We C.A.R.E. Leadership Award: Amber Chancelor, RN, Palliative and Supportive Care
Philip Rogers Award Winners: Leadership: John Fitzpatrick, MD, nephrology, Hattiesburg Clinic; Innovator: Jose Fernandez, MD, neurology, Hattiesburg Clinic; Mentor: Randel Smith, MD, cardiology, Hattiesburg Clinic Heart and Vascular; Humanitarian: Joseph Salloum, MD, radiation oncology, South Mississippi Associates in Radiation Therapy, PLLC
Service Awards (30 Years): Thomas W. Barber, Pharmacist, Pharmacy; Lisa A. Beckum, unit assistant, Emergency Services; Carolyn L. Broome, senior operating room tech, Surgical Services; Lisa R. Davis, patient care coordinator, ICU; Vickie L. Duncan, environmental tech, Environmental Services; Walter J. Hearn, biomed tech III, Bio-Med; Pamela D. Lindsey, nephrology coordinator, 7T-Resident & Renal; Lela McMillion, RN, OI-Medical Surgical; Laura J. Miley, director of Nursing, Marion General Hospital, Operations Support; Sandra J. Prater, Diagnostic RN, Radiology; Judy L. Schlott, EPIC analyst, Information Systems; Susan M. Smith, clinical registry coordinator, Cath Lab; Edna M. Strickland, secretary, Cath Lab; Linda F. Taylor, unit secretary, 7T-Respiratory and Renal; Renita Travis, unit secretary, Emergency Services; Joanne Warren-Johnson, team leader, Lab; Carolyn L. Woullard, administrative registration supervisor, Radiology

Service Awards (35 Years): Randy H. Applewhite, pharmacist, Pharmacy; Sue E. Crabtree, senior program analyst, Information Systems; Deborah F. Esters, unit secretary, 3T; Terri P. Hutson, Epic RN analyst, EPIC; Berniece Hyche, LPN, Same Day Surgery; Sandra D. Oneal, EPIC RT Analyst, Epic; Sherry L. Phillips-Dykes, Epic RN analyst, Epic; Lynn Smith, senior system administrator, Information Systems; Patricia L. Watts, environmental tech, Environmental Services.

Service Awards (40 Years): Jamie C. Campbell, support specialist II, Information Systems; Patricia A. Keys, unit secretary, NICU; Karen A. Simmons, payroll specialist, Payroll; Meida I. Sinclair, patient care supervisor, Patient Care Services Administration


… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About MBJ Staff

Leave a Reply