Home » NEWS » Insurance » Independent Insurance Agents of Mississippi announces new leadership

Independent Insurance Agents of Mississippi announces new leadership

Josh Smith

Josh Smith, President of Insurance & Risk Managers in Brookhaven, was elected Chairman of the Independent Insurance Agents of Mississippi (IIAM). Josh’s election as Chairman follows an active involvement with the association that includes serving as Vice Chairman, Chairman-Elect, as a Board and Executive Committee member, and as Young Agents Chairman. Smith is currently serving as IIAM-PAC Chairman.

Smith has been in the insurance industry for 21 years since earning his BBA in Risk Management from Ole Miss in 1998. He is the President of SecureRisk of MS and currently sits on advisory boards for Chubb, FCCI, Accident Fund, United Fire and Bitco Insurance. Josh has also served on advisory boards for Summit, State Auto and Companion in the past. He is very active in his community, serving as Past President of Brookhaven Academy Educational Foundation, Brookhaven Kiwanis Club, The Tucker Tournament and past board member of Brookhaven Lincoln County Chamber of Commerce and Church of the Redeemer.

Other IIAM officers include: Tatum Brown of R. L. Brown Insurance Agency in Oxford as ChairmanElect; Scott Woods of Fisher Brown Bottrell Insurance in Jackson as Vice Chairman; Ray Collins of Collins Insurance Agency in New Albany as Treasurer; and Shaw Johnson III of SouthGroup Insurance Services in Clarksdale as National Director.

In addition to the association officers, Smith named the following agents to serve on the IIAM Executive Committee for 2019-2020: Ray Robertson of Gallagher Risk Management Services in Ridgeland, Past Chairman; Chris Rhett of Galloway Chandler McKinney Insurance Agency in Columbus, Young Agents Chairman; Terry Pendley of Old South Insurance Group in Hazlehurst; Gwen Jolly of West Central & Company in Aberdeen; John Morgan Mims of The Insurance Center Of Meridian in Meridian; Amy Smith of Ross & Yerger Insurance in Jackson; Seldon Van Cleve of Van Cleve Insurance Agency in Indianola; and Bradley Tyler of Renasant Insurance in Kosciusko.

The following agents were also elected to serve a three-year term on the IIAM Board of Directors: Matt Lewis of Liberty Insurance in Liberty, Brett Boykin of SouthGroup Insurance Services in Cleveland, Clint Hanson of Columbus Insurance in Columbus and Josh Thompson of Insurance Solutions of MS in Meridian.


… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About MBJ Staff