Home » NEWS » Awards » MDOT announces State Equipment Operators Roadeo winners

MDOT announces State Equipment Operators Roadeo winners

The Mississippi Department of Transportation announced statewide winners of the 2019 State Equipment Operators Roadeo held in Biloxi.

Single-Axle Dump Truck: Roger Brown, of Amory, first; Matthew Thorne, of Newton, second; and John Hodge, of Lake, third.
Tandem-Axle Dump Truck: Derrick Stamps, of Cary, first; David Baty, of Hattiesburg, second; and Steve Allen, of Booneville, third.
Lowboy: Billy Coward, of Conehatta, first; William Fulgham, of Smithdale, second; and Mike Mink, of Blue Mountain, third.
Motor Grader: Jeremy Hankins, of Crowder, first; Simpson Wofford, of Mantee, second; and Jake Burge, of Taylorville, third.
Bushhog: Nathan Perkins, of Conehatta, first; Wayne Perkins, of Conehatta, second; and Vincent Necaise, of Kiln, third.
Backhoe: Fdaran Thompson, of Tylertown, first; Thomas Goode, of Batesville, second; and Craig Kelly, of Decatur, third.
State Roadeo Team Champion – MDOT’s District 5 Team from Newton

The winner of each event has the opportunity to compete in the southeast regional roadeo which will be held in September in Biloxi.


… we’d like to ask for your support. More people are reading the Mississippi Business Journal than ever before, but advertising revenues for all conventional media are falling fast. Unlike many, we do not use a pay wall, because we want to continue providing Mississippi’s most comprehensive business news each and every day. But that takes time, money and hard work. We do it because it is important to us … and equally important to you, if you value the flow of trustworthy news and information which have always kept America strong and free for more than 200 years.

If those who read our content will help fund it, we can continue to bring you the very best in news and information. Please consider joining us as a valued member, or if you prefer, make a one-time contribution.

Click for more info

About MBJ Staff